Florida Division of Blind Services logo

 

Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind

The Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind consists of 20 members appointed by the Governor with the majority being blind or visually impaired.   

Mission Statement

The Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind reviews, analyzes & advises on the policy decisions and evaluates the effectiveness of the Florida Division of Blind Services to ensure meaningful access to and use of vocational rehabilitation and independent living programs for Floridians who are blind or visually impaired.

Vision Statement

The Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind functions to create a positive impact on the fairness, efficiency, and accessibility of services through the evaluation of consumer feedback and the Florida Division of Blind Services performance.

Directory of Members

The following individuals are on the Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind. E-mail addresses, where available, were provided by the Council members. Each name is followed by contact information, the category they represent, and the year their term ends. Last update: 06/17/2017.

Council Officers
Name Contact Information Representing Term
Michael A. Wiseman
(Council Chair)
591 E. 15th Street
Hialeah, FL 33010
Cell: 305-331-4870
Email: wisemanmikey@gmail.com
Advocacy Group
Florida Council of the Blind
(FCB)
2020

Dwight Sayer
(First Vice Chair)

12516 Hammock Pointe Circle
Clermont, FL  34711
president@nabv.org

Business/Industry/Labor

2021

Denise Valkema
( Second Vice Chair)

11551 SW 90 Street
Miami, FL  33176
(C) (305) 972-8529
dvalkema@bellsouth.net
valkemadenise@aol.com

Advocacy Group- National Federation of the Blind 2020
Council Members
Name Contact Information Representing Term
Nicole A. Attong FIU Embrace
11200 SW 8th Street
MARC 312
Miami, FL 33199
Work: 305-348-8457
Cell: 305-773-9042
Email: nattong@fiu.edu
Email: naattong@gmail.com
Florida Independent Living Council (FILC) 2019
Howard Bell Disability Rights Florida
1000 North Ashley Drive, Ste 640,
Tampa, FL  33602
Office: 850-488-9071
Email: howardb@DisabilityRightsFlorida.org
Client Assistance Program 2019

Kim Carr

Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind
207 San Marco
St. Augustine, FL
(O) 904-827-2232
carr@fsdb.k12.fl.us

Business/ Industry/Labor 2021
Rose Conry StaffTime
7845 Baymeadows Way
Jacksonville, FL  32256
Office: 904-215-1313
Email: rose@stafftimejobs.com
State Workforce Investment Board(CareerSource) 2019
Robert L. Doyle, III Department of Education
325 West Gaines St.
Turlington Bldg. Suite 1114
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Office: 850-245-0300
Fax: 850-245-0363
Email: Robert.Doyle@dbs.fldoe.org
Director of Blind Services
(Ex Officio)
9999
Paul Edwards 20330 N.E. 20TH  Court
Miami, FL 33179
(C)305-984-0909
(H)305-692-9206
Edwards.paul55@gmail.com
Business/Industry/Labor 2021
Leanne Grillot

Florida Department of Education
Bureau of Exceptional Education and Student Services
325 West Gaines Street
Ste. 614
Tallahassee, Florida  32399
(O) (850) 245-0475
Leanne.grillot@fldoe.org

State Educational Unit 2019
Jorge Hernandez

Miami Lighthouse for the Blind and Visually Impaired
601 SW 8 Avenue
Miami, FL  33130
(O) (786) 362-7547
jhernandez@miamilighthouse.org

Community Rehab Provider 2019
Tracie Inman

2862 Shangri La Drive
Atlantic Beach, FL  32233 
TracieI@theilrc.org
Tracielinman@gmail.com
(O) 904-399-8484

Advocacy Group - Deaf/Blind 2019

Robert Kelly

Kellyrob2@aol.com Business/Industry/Labor 2019
Paul Kurtz 4650 Nottingham Road
Jacksonville, FL  32210
Home: 904-388-1192
Email: phktrumpet@gmail.com
Former Client 2019
Patricia A.Lipovsky 1129 Bradenton Rd.
Daytona Beach, FL  32114
Home: 386-255-0288
Cell: 386-212-6627
Email: plipovsky@cfl.rr.com
Former Client 2019
Bruce A. Miles 590 Hammock Court
Marco Island, FL 34145
Home Phone: 239-394-1020
Fax Number: 239-394-1414
Email: Brokerbruc@aol.com
Parent of Blind 2018
Louise Peyton 4711 W. Vasconia Street
Tampa, FL  33629
Home: 813-837-9074
VR Counselor 2018
Misty Porter

Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind
207 N San Marco
St. Augustine, FL 
(O) (904) 827-2988
porterm@fsdb.k12.fl.us

Parent Training 2021
Selena Sickler Division of Blind Services
325 West Gaines St.
Turlington Bldg. Suite 1114
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Office: 850-245-0329
Fax: 850-245-0363
Email: Selena.Sickler@dbs.fldoe.org
Council Staff 9999
Vacant   Advocacy Group – (BVA) 2017
Vacant   Advocacy Group – (LIONS) 2017