Florida Division of Blind Services logo

 

 

Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind

The Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind consists of 20 members appointed by the Governor with the majority being blind or visually impaired.   

Mission Statement

The Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind reviews, analyzes & advises on the policy decisions and evaluates the effectiveness of the Florida Division of Blind Services to ensure meaningful access to and use of vocational rehabilitation and independent living programs for Floridians who are blind or visually impaired.

Vision Statement

The Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind functions to create a positive impact on the fairness, efficiency, and accessibility of services through the evaluation of consumer feedback and the Florida Division of Blind Services performance.

Directory of Members

The following individuals are on the Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind. E-mail addresses, where available, were provided by the Council members. Each name is followed by contact information, the category they represent, and the year their term ends. Last update: August 23, 2021.

Council Officers
Name Contact Information Representing Term
Jorge Hernandez
(Council Chair)
Miami Lighthouse for the Blind and Visually Impaired
601 SW 8 Avenue
Miami, FL 33130
Office: (786) 362-7547
Email: jhernandez@miamilighthouse.org
Community Rehab
Provider
2022
Donte Mickens
(First Vice Chair)
4635 Danson Way
Delray Beach, FL 33445
Home: (561) 450-6149
Email: Donte.Mickens@yahoo.com
Current/Former Client 2022
Douglas Ingram
(Second Vice Chair)
4060 Deer Lane Dr.
Tallahassee, FL 32312
Cell: (850) 567-8123
Email: Dingram59@comcast.net
Advocacy Group (BVA) 2023
Council Members
Name Contact Information Representing Term
Misty Porter Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind
207 N San Marco
St. Augustine, FL
Office: (904) 827-2988
Email: porterm@fsdbk12.org
Parent Training 2021
Howard Bell Disability Rights Florida
1000 North Ashley Drive, Ste 640
Tampa, FL 33602
Office: (850) 488-9071
Email: howardb@DisabilityRightsFlorida.org
Client Assistance Program 2022
Nancy Bateh Division of Blind Services
1809 Art Museum Dr. Suite 201
Jacksonville, FL 32207
Office: (904) 348-2730
Email: Nancy.Bateh@dbs.fldoe.org
VR Counselor (Ex Officio) 2021
Robert Kelly 1110 Loomis Avenue
Daytona, FL 32114
Cell: (386) 295-4416
Email: Kellyrob2@aol.com
Business/Industry/Labor 2022
Paul Edwards 20330 N.E. 20th Court
Miami, FL 33179
Cell: (305) 984-0909
Home: (305) 692-9206
Email: Edwards.paul955@gmail.com
Business/Industry/Labor 2021
Bessie Outman 169 White Fawn Dr.
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
Cell: (386) 972-7536
Email: Earline.outman@gmail.com
Parent of Blind 2021
Robert L. Doyle III Department of Education
325 West Gaines St.
Turlington Bldg. Suite 1114
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Office: 850-245-0300
Fax: 850-245-0363
Email: Robert.Doyle@dbs.fldoe.org
Director of Blind Services
(Ex Officio)
9999
Bruce Miles 590 Hammock Court
Marco Island, FL 34145
Cell: (239) 272-3446
Email: brokerbruc@aol.com
Advocacy Group
(LIONS)
2023
Patricia Lipovsky 1129 Bradenton Road
Daytona, FL 32114
Cell: (386) 212-6627
Email: plipovsky@cfl.rr.com
Former Client 2022
Jennifer Coburn Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street
Suite 614
Tallahassee, FL 32909
Office: (850) 245-0066
Email: jennifer.coburn@fldoe.org
BESE 2022
Copyright © State of Florida Accessibility Privacy Public Records Requests Terms and Conditions