Florida Division of Blind Services logo

 

 

Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind

Last Modified: December 23, 2020

The Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind consists of 20 members appointed by the Governor with the majority being blind or visually impaired.   

Mission Statement

The Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind reviews, analyzes & advises on the policy decisions and evaluates the effectiveness of the Florida Division of Blind Services to ensure meaningful access to and use of vocational rehabilitation and independent living programs for Floridians who are blind or visually impaired.

Vision Statement

The Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind functions to create a positive impact on the fairness, efficiency, and accessibility of services through the evaluation of consumer feedback and the Florida Division of Blind Services performance.

Directory of Members

The following individuals are on the Florida Rehabilitation Council for the Blind. E-mail addresses, where available, were provided by the Council members. Each name is followed by contact information, the category they represent, and the year their term ends. Last update: December 23, 2020.

Council Officers
Name Contact Information Representing Term
Paul Edwards
(Council Chair)
20330 N.E. 20TH  Court
Miami, FL 33179
(C)305-984-0909
(H)305-692-9206
Edwards.paul955@gmail.com
Business/Industry/Labor 2021
Dwight Sayer
(First Vice Chair)
12516 Hammock Pointe Circle
Clermont, FL  34711
president@nabv.org
Business/Industry/Labor 2021
Denise Valkema
(Second Vice Chair)
11551 SW 90 Street
Miami, FL  33176
(C) (305) 972-8529
dvalkema@bellsouth.net
valkemadenise@aol.com
Advocacy Group
National Federation of the Blind
2020
Council Members
Name Contact Information Representing Term

Howard Bell
(Waiting on Reappointment)

Disability Rights Florida
1000 North Ashley Drive, Ste 640,
Tampa, FL  33602
Office: 850-488-9071
Email: howardb@DisabilityRightsFlorida.org
Client Assistance Program 2019
Kim Carr Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind
207 San Marco
St. Augustine, FL
(O) 904-827-2232
carrk@fsdbk12.org
Business/ Industry/Labor 2021
Robert L. Doyle, III Department of Education
325 West Gaines St.
Turlington Bldg. Suite 1114
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Office: 850-245-0300
Fax: 850-245-0363
Email: Robert.Doyle@dbs.fldoe.org
Director of Blind Services
(Ex Officio)
9999
Michael A. Wiseman 591 E. 15th Street
Hialeah, FL 33010
Cell: 305-331-4870
Email: wisemanmikey@gmail.com
Advocacy Group
Florida Council of the Blind
(FCB)
2020
Jorge Hernandez
(Waiting on Reappointment)
Miami Lighthouse for the Blind and Visually Impaired
601 SW 8 Avenue
Miami, FL  33130
(O) (786) 362-7547
jhernandez@miamilighthouse.org
Community Rehab Provider 2019
Tracie Inman
(Waiting on Reappointment)
2862 Shangri La Drive
Atlantic Beach, FL  32233 
TracieI@theilrc.org
Tracielinman@gmail.com
(O) 904-399-8484
Advocacy Group - Deaf/Blind 2019
Misty Porter Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind
207 N San Marco
St. Augustine, FL 
(O) (904) 827-2988
porterm@fsdbk12.org
Parent Training 2021
Denise Valkema 11551 SW 90 St.
Miami, FL  33176
(C) (305) 972-8529
dvalkema@bellsouth.net
valkemadenise@aol.com
Advocacy Group
National Federation of the Blind
2020
Vacant   Advocacy Group – (BVA) 2017
Vacant   Advocacy Group – (LIONS) 2017
Vacant   Parent of Blind 2018
Vacant   FL Independent Living Council
(FILC)
2019
Vacant   State Workforce Investment Board (CareerSource) 2019
Vacant   State Educational Unit 2019
Vacant   Business/Industry/Labor 2019
Vacant   Former Client 2019
Vacant   VR Counselor 2021
Selena Sickler Division of Blind Services
325 W. Gaines Street
Turlington Building
Suite 1114
Tallahassee, FL 32399
(O) (850) 245-0329
(F) (850) 245-0363 Selena.Sickler@dbs.fldoe.org
Council Staff 9999
Copyright © State of Florida Accessibility Privacy Public Records Requests Terms and Conditions